Call Now

Get the Best DUI Attorneys in Southern California!
855-529-7761

Facing DUI charges can
be devastating! You don't
have to face this alone.

Call us now at:
855-LAW-PRO1
or contact us through our
Discreet Online Form

DUI Arrest in California

Based on probable cause and the results of the field sobriety tests and/or the breathalyzer, a DUI arrest is made, and a DUI offense charge is filed. In California, the individual must submit to a blood or breath test with no defense attorney present. The arrested individual is not explained his/her rights about refusal to submit to a test. A direct refusal to testing leads to an automatic one-year license suspension and even an extended jail sentence.

A DUI arrest in California can be fought and won. It's important to understand that the penalties and punishments for a DUI offense in California can be dismissed or minimized with an aggressive DUI defense attorney with expert level investigative resources and strategic defenses. Without an attorney your DUI offense can wreak havoc on your life and your loved ones, now and in the future. A DUI offense remains on your record for ten years.

In California, a DUI offense carries harsh punishments and penalties. Other factors can severely increase the penalties of an arrest, especially if it is not your first DUI offense. Other factors can include speeding, having a child in the car, accidents and more. If you've had a DUI offense charge within the past ten years and it is your fourth DUI offense, then it is considered a felony. If you are facing a felony DUI you need to contact us immediately. The penalties for a felony DUI are extremely severe and without a DUI defense attorney experienced in California criminal courts you might as well throw in the towel and face mandatory jail time.

A DUI offense is in fact a criminal charge and you need a defense attorney. If you have been arrested before and you have a criminal charge on your record a DUI attorney that is both experienced in handling criminal and DUI offenses is what you need. At LibertyBell Law Group our DUI defense attorneys know how to defend your criminal past so that it doesn't come into consideration while your California DUI offense is being processed. Our team of California attorneys work together to make a solid and aggressive defense for your DUI offense charge.

California DUI Offense Penalties & Punishments

The following is to be used only as a reference. In California, counties vary their penalties slightly. Please check an official government website for updates and more detailed information on DUI laws and penalties in California.

First DUI Offense

  • Probation: 3-5 years court probation.
  • Fines & Court Fees - $1400 to $1800.
  • Driver License: 6 Month Suspension.
  • DUI School: 12 hours to 45 hours.
  • Jail Time: Mandatory 48 hours (This possibly can be converted to work service).
  • Installation of an Ignition Interlock Device: Installed for 5 months or more. Required in Alameda, Los Angeles, Tulare, and Sacramento counties.

Second DUI Offense

  • Probation: 3-5 years court probation.
  • Fines & Court Fees: $1800 to $2800.
  • Driver License: 2 Year Suspension.
  • DUI School: 18 months.
  • Jail Time: Mandatory 96 hours (This possibly can be converted to work service). Many counties require 10 days, some require 30 days in jail.
  • Installation of an Ignition Interlock Device: Installed for 5 months or more. Required in Alameda, Los Angeles, Tulare, and Sacramento counties.

Third DUI Offense

  • Probation: 3-5 years of court or formal probation.
  • Fines & Court Fees: $1800 to $2800.
  • Driver License: 3 Year Suspension.
  • DUI School: 18 month.
  • Jail Time: Mandatory 120 days (This possibly that some time can be converted to work service, rehab, home arrest or a combination). Many counties require 210 days; some require a full year in jail.
  • Installation of an Ignition Interlock Device: Installed for 5 months or more. Required in Alameda, Los Angeles, Tulare, and Sacramento counties.

Fourth DUI Offense

  • Fines & Court Fees - $1800 to $2800.
  • Driver License: 4 year revocation.
  • Prison: 16 months to 4 years.
  • Habitual Traffic Offender Status for three years.

A Fourth DUI offense in California is considered a felony if three previous DUI convictions occurred within 10 years. An experienced California DUI attorney will first work at getting your charge dismissed. LibertyBell Law Group lawyers will thoroughly examine and research all prior wet reckless or DUI convictions to see if they can be challenged. If a prior DUI can be challenged and won, then a fourth DUI offense can be designated as a misdemeanor, rather than a felony, and thus carry much less penalties.

Recent Case Results

  • Charge
    2nd DUI (.12 BREATH)

    Result
    DUI Dismissed! No Jail!

Case Submission Form

Use of this email submission form does not alone create a client-attorney relationship.

drunk driving