Call Now

Get the Best DUI Attorneys in Southern California!
855-529-7761

Facing DUI charges can
be devastating! You don't
have to face this alone.

Call us now at:
855-LAW-PRO1
or contact us through our
Discreet Online Form

Underage DUI Laws in California

Underage DUI has specific laws. California is a "zero tolerance" state in regards to underage drinking and driving. An individual who is under 21 and is found to have a BAC level of .01% or above will be charged with DUI.

There are actually three different criminal offenses related to underage DUI in California:

  • Blood alcohol level of .01% or greater (California Vehicle Code Section 23136)
    a driver under the age of 21 who operates a motor vehicle while with a blood alcohol concentration of .01% or greater may face driver's license suspension for 1 year.
  • Blood alcohol level of .05% or greater California Vehicle Code Section 23140)
    a driver under the age of 21 who operates a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration of .05% or greater may face a mandatory alcohol education/rehabilitation program, as well as driver's license suspension for 1 year.
  • Blood alcohol level of .08% or greater (California Vehicle Code Section 23152)
    for a driver of any age, having a blood alcohol concentration of .08% or greater is a criminal offense which may be charged as a misdemeanor or a felony and may be punishable by: imprisonment, fines, driver's license suspension, community service, probation, and more. In addition to facing regular DUI charges under California Vehicle Code 23152, a driver under the age of 21 may also face additional administrative penalties under California Vehicle Code Section 23136 and 23140.

Recent Case Results

  • Charge
    2nd DUI (.12 BREATH)

    Result
    DUI Dismissed! No Jail!

Case Submission Form

Use of this email submission form does not alone create a client-attorney relationship.

drunk driving